Nyus i kam long MP mo Pati
Parliament of the Republic of Vanuatu

PRESS RELEASE: Solidarity Agreement signed today between VP, UMP, NUP, GJP, Nagriamel, MPP, VLDP and others

(7 November)
A Solidarity Agreement was signed this afternoon between the Presidents of the Vanuaaku Pati (VP), Union of Moderate Parties (UMP), the National United Party (NUP), Graon mo Jastis Pati (GJP), Nagriamel, the Melanesian Progressive Party (MPP), the Vanuatu Liberal Democratic Party (VLDP) and some Independents towards the formation of the next government.
The signing of this Agreement is possible because the official results of the election have now been published, so the names of MP’s are now official and confirmed and the numbers in each political party are also confirmed.
Signings of agreements before today were purely speculative, based on unconfirmed MP names and unknown party numbers.
The Agreements states that the principal grounds for the unity of the MP’s and parties in this Solidarity Agreement is “the desire to combat corruption and to restore confidence, stability and growth in the country”.
The Solidarity Agreement signed today is an evolving document open to new parties and MP’s to join.  The signatory parties and MP’s to this agreement are confident of securing around 30 MP’s in support of a new government to take office after the parliamentary vote to elect the new Prime Minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.